North County Road Run - Logo

Race Report: North County Road Run 10 km

The first race in my new home state of Washington is one that nobody seems to have heard of. Taking place in the town of Lynden, just 4 miles south of the Canadian border, even residents of the 12,000 population town had no idea that a race was taking place. While sitting down for a coffee prior to the race the waitress mentioned that she only realised the race (which ran straight past the restaurant) was taking place on her way into work that day, and vaguely recalled the first running of the event last year.

I signed up for the race as it offered a fast and flat course that is rarely available closer to home. I had initially been planning on attempting to break the 35-minute barrier, but the training disruption caused by an intercontinental relocation made that unlikely. After warming up I headed to the start line, noticing one other runner who had done likewise. It was the two of us that stood towards the front of the field as the countdown started.

Setting off from the start I needed to settle down into race pace, but I realised a problem. I had switched my watch from kilometres to miles earlier in the week, but had no idea of my required pace in min/mile. I was at the front of the race, using the first mile to perform some mental arithmetic to calculate what pace I should be running. It turned out I had set off slightly fast on the gentle descent out of town so I eased back as I ran alongside corn fields on the country roads with low-lying fog creating surreal, muted colours.

At about the halfway mark we took a left turn that started a long, gentle climb. I struggled to hold my pace on the climb and started to worry that breaking 36 minutes might not even be possible. Nearing the top of the climb I was passed by the other runner who had joined me near the front, and he seemed a bit surprised when I managed to find enough oxygen to say “well done”.

Topping out of the climb I felt better and was able to pick the pace back up as we made our way back into town. I was happy to cross the finish line with a second-best 10 km time of 35:39.

Leave a Reply

