Training Run: A Treadmill in Addis

I travelled to Ethiopia for 13 days of touring around the north of the country. My purpose for visiting was to see historic sights but it would also give me a good opportunity to get in some training at altitude before my upcoming running-focussed trip to Kenya.

After spending my first day sightseeing in Addis Ababa I realised that a road run in the late afternoon would involve many frustrating road crossings and a lot of traffic, both motorised and pedestrian. Staying at a hotel with a gym I made the decision to run on the treadmill instead. I am not exactly sure when my last treadmill run took place, but I think it must have been at least a couple of years ago. I set the treadmill to a 1% gradient and set off.

The run itself was boring and unexceptional but it did provide a couple of benefits. Having mirrors both in front and beside the treadmill I was able to view my own gait in a way that is not possible excluding an out-of-body experience. I was pleased to see that I was landing with a bent knee and with my foot directly under my body. I also decided to measure my cadence and counted 192 steps per minute at an easy running pace.

It was good to have the opportunity to study my running style under the controlled conditions of a treadmill, but I was eagerly looking forward to leaving the big city and running outdoors.

Leave a Reply

