Training Runs: Table Mountain Once More … or Twice

I ran up Table Mountain for the first time just a few months ago back in September, following the very popular Platteklip Gorge to the top of the mountain.

Finding myself back in Cape Town again I was provided with the opportunity to climb Table Mountain once more … or maybe even twice more.

Table Mountain - Cape Town From the Top
Table Mountain – Cape Town From the Top

Staying in the suburb of Observatory, on the east side of the mountain, I took off on the first morning from Cecilia Forest and climbed from there to traverse above the Kirstenbosch Gardens. I climbed up another popular route, Skeleton Gorge, and then continued to climb to the highest point on the mountain, Maclear’s Beacon. For my return journey I made my way to Nursery Ravine, and descended from there before returning to my car.

The following morning I decided for a slight variation on the route, once again starting at Cecilia Forest but climbing via Nursery Ravine and then descending Skeleton Gorge. Once at the top of the mountain I followed a different route past the Hely-Hutchinson Reservoir and then stopped briefly at the top of the cable car for an energy drink.

Between the two days I managed to cover most of the trails at the top of the mountain, and can really appreciate the local park that Capetonians are lucky to have.

One thought on “Training Runs: Table Mountain Once More … or Twice

Leave a Reply

