3 Days to WSER: The Return of the Sun

After 3 days of rain and cool weather the cold front passed over and the sun returned to California. It would be a warm and sunny day before the real heat started to move in over the coming days.

Continuing with my taper my plan was a simple 3-mile (5-km) run. A couple of days earlier I had completed a loop in the Truckee Donner area where I was staying, and then continued further to make up the 3+ miles I had run that day. Today I would start at a slightly different spot and run a lollipop route with two laps of the same loop. I decided to wait until afternoon and head out in the hottest part of the day for my short run.

In the morning I completed my final shopping and prepared my drop bags and some additional bags for the points where I will meet my crew. I was lucky enough to bump into Mariano, who I met at Leadville last year, at the night training run and he was kind enough to volunteer to crew for me along with another friend of his, Joe. It will certainly make things easier on the day, particularly with the predicted heat and the possible changes that will require to my race plan in terms of pacing and/or nutrition.

I set out for my run and during the first lap decided that I would reverse the direction of the loop for the second. So when I ended the first loop, I turned around and reversed course around the loop and back to the start. The legs were feeling strong and fresh and I picked up the pace a couple of times in what turned into a brief fartlek session. Only one more training run remained before race day.

For the brief details of this brief run you can check out MovesCount.com here.

Leave a Reply

