2 Days to WSER: Two More Cycles of Nature

Two days prior to race day I would be relocating from Truckee, where I had spent a week resting and recovering, to the race village at Squaw Valley.

I woke up in the morning, had some breakfast, and wasted some time on the Internet. It was after 11 AM before I decided that I should really start moving for the day, since I had one last run to fit in before heading across to Squaw. I put on my running clothes and headed across to a nearby trailhead to complete two laps of the same loop I had run on my two prior runs. The loop involves a bit of ascent and descent without any sustained climbing, and two loops turn out at just over 3 miles (5 km), which is exactly what I had planned.

Having run the two loops the previous day in reverse direction, on this occasion I decided to run both loops in the clockwise direction which I had preferred. I set out for a casual run, allowed myself to briefly pick up the pace for a couple of short sections, and after what these days feels like an extremely short run (under 30 minutes) I returned to my car.

I showered, packed my car, and drove the 25 minutes across to Squaw Valley. There I met up with Mariano (one of my crew members), bumped into Mike (one of my pacers), and also ran into a number of other people I have met during my time running the trails of California. The next day would be a day of rest, but more importantly race registration, and the village would start to get really busy.

For the details of my brief run you can check out at MovesCount.com here.

Leave a Reply

