11 Days to WSER: TRT – Meadows, Lake, Junction

After spending a couple of days checking out Squaw Valley and the start of the Western States course I made my down to Lake
Tahoe. Once again I would get to enjoy a part of the Tahoe Rim Trail (TRT). I had dinner in South Lake Tahoe and then camped overnight in the Big Meadows campground that is right on the trail.

When I had made my way along the TRT a few weeks earlier (read about that here and here) I had intended to cover the section from Mt Rose all the way through to Echo Lake, but instead made the decision to turn around not long after Star Lake (read about that decision here). I would now get a chance to follow a small section of the course from Big Meadows in the direction of Echo Lake.

TRT - A Fairly Big Meadow
TRT – A Fairly Big Meadow

I set out from the trailhead in the morning, soon crossed Highway 89 which provides access to that part of the trail, and left civilization behind, at least for the remainder of my run. I was running an out-and-back route, turning around after approximately 5 miles (8 km) where the TRT meets the Pacific Crest Trail (PCT). The PCT is a long-distance hiking trail along the Sierra Nevada and Cascade mountain ranges that stretches from Mexico to Canada over a distance of 2,663 miles (4,286 km). On this day I would turnaround exactly where the TRT meets the PCT so would not run the PCT at all, but I had joined short sections of it on a couple of my earlier runs and it will appear in some upcoming posts as well.

TRT - PCT Junction
TRT – PCT Junction

Within the first mile I reached the first of a few alpine meadows (hence the name Big Meadows) that I would cross on my run. I continued to climb until I reached Round Lake, and briefly left the trail to get a view over the lake. Then I continued on my way until I eventually reached the junction with the PCT. I then turned around and commenced my descent back to the trailhead. In what seems like a continuing series of loops I would continue my day by driving back over the mountains towards Sacramento, but I will write more on that in my next post.

TRT - A Relatively Round Lake
TRT – A Relatively Round Lake

For details of my run through meadows, past a lake, and turning around at a junction you can check out MovesCount.com here.

2 thoughts on “11 Days to WSER: TRT – Meadows, Lake, Junction

Leave a Reply

