The Life of a Professional Runner

It has been quite a while since my last post but all of that is about to change. Well, at least for the next few weeks. Well, as long as I don’t get distracted, lazy or bored.

On June 29th I will start my major race for the year, my second 100-mile race at the Western States Endurance Run. The race is the oldest 100-mile trail race and has a fantastic history and prestige, but I will allow you to check out Google if you want further details on that.

Earlier this year I was offered a redundancy from work and a cunning plan started to form and foment. On May 15th I landed in Australia, relocating back from South Africa, and headed into the office for my final day at Ericsson after more than 12 years.

On May 21st my plane touched down at San Francisco International Airport. I will remain in the South-West of the USA until early August, and until my departure I will live the life of a professional runner. I will visit the areas national parks and see them in the best way possible: running. I will run and I will rest. All that is missing from my professional career is an income.

During my time in the USA leading up to the race I plan to blog about my training, as a countdown to race day. I hope to write a post for each day, although they will possibly be posted in fits and starts based on the time I spend to capture my posts, as well as the availability of Internet access.

I am already five days in so I had better get started.

Leave a Reply

